Use WebServices in Flex4

Taking cue from a very good tutorial  from insideria.com, I made a small app in Flex4. My fisrt official app in Flex4 using Flash Builder. I’ve used a public webservice to fetch quotes based on topics. There’s a combo box populated with some topics. When you click a certain topic, the webservice uses another method to fetch the “quotes” on that topic. Pretty simple…Now, what’s different here…..anybody can do it in Flex2 or 3…Well, I used the new “Connect to Web Service” feature where in I added the webservice URL and Voila…I get some pre cooked code out there……I just have to strategise my app and not worry about the nitty gritty of code…Its kind of cool wherein you have to get in some quick plug in or small handy componenent…..

Thanks to Fortune Web Service

Here’s the DEMO version…(a bug – However I could not fire the call intially and get the quote when the app loads….will figure it out..)

and here’s the SourceCode to get going…

Parting Note: Flex 4 generated SWF files are much more heavier than Flex 3 SWF files. So Flex 4 SWF file for this Demo is 1.31 MB and its Flex 3 counterpart is only 433 KB, which makes Flex 4 SWF file approx 3 times heavier….Somebody listening…? A heavy price for all those jazzy effects and sleek shadows…

An Update: the DEMO just not might work as there’s some crossdomain.xml (Darn! I hate it) issue…Will fix it soon..

Leave a Reply

